The Rwanda Data Journalism Awards (RDJA) is NISR's new initiative recognizing outstanding works in the field of data journalism countrywide. RDJA will normally be organized yearly and winners will be announced during the celebration of the African Statistics Day. The awards will be given to exemplary data-driven investigations and stories; and programs and media houses that use data visualization, covering topics relevant to the general public and aiming at using data to have an impact on the society.

The mission of this award is to promote excellence and creativity in the reporting of statistics-based stories to the Rwandan public in this data revolution era when journalistic reportage requires practices that include statistical analyses, interpretations and visualization   to tell complex and sensitive stories in simple and convincing way. Data journalism on any subject involving official statistics based findings and analyses are eligible for the award.  For this very First Edition, winners will be announced and awarded on 12 December 2017.

RDJA categories:

Category 1: Excellence in Online Data Journalism
Description: Best interactive or static visualization in a story which accomplish a journalistic purpose and use data significantly in an online media

  • Maximum of 4 entries
  • Open to individual journalists ( online)

Prize: Laptop

Category 2: Excellence in Print Data Journalism
Description: Best data-driven journalism with informative static visualization on print     newspapers.

  • Maximum of 4 entries
  • Open to individual journalists(print).

Prize: laptop
Category 3: Excellence in Radio Data Journalism

Description: Best data-driven journalism in radio news stories or programs.

  • Open to individual journalists(Radio)
  • Maximum of 4 entries

Prize: laptop

Category 4: Excellence in TV Data Journalism

Description: Best data-driven journalism on TV news stories or programs.

  • Maximum of 4 entries
  • Open to individual journalists (TV).

Prize: laptop

RDJA 2017 eligibility:

The Data Journalism Awards competition celebrates outstanding work in the field of data journalism in Rwanda. Awards can be won by any accredited media organization, or individual journalists in Rwanda.

  • We actively seek submissions from print, online and broadcast journalists.  Entries can have been published, broadcasted or aired in  English , Kinyarwanda or in French,  and must have appeared between 1st July2017  and   30th  November 2017.
  • Individual journalists and freelancers on accredited media houses are eligible for the Data Journalism Awards. Works produced by individuals or teams of journalists from media companies and non-profit organizations, as well as freelancers or individuals are all eligible for entry.
  • Works produced by staffers or freelancers collaborating with government agencies, business or trade organizations with a stake (financial or of other nature) in the issue at hand are not eligible. In other words, the awards are not given to business data visualizations or projects produced for branding purposes.
  • The RDJA administrators have the final authority to determine whether an entry is eligible or not.

Evaluation criteria:

Applicants must be Rwandan citizens or permanent residents, and the submitted work must have appeared in an accredited Rwandan-based media between 1 July 2017 and  30 November 2017.

The following two points describe a set of criteria that will be considered in the evaluation of the submissions in all categories:

1.    Ease of understanding what the data is saying by enabling greater public understanding of a particular topic through accurate data representation, visual elegance, creativity, originality, and uniqueness of informative infographic, or other visualization   techniques used to present data in a journalistic story or program.

2.    The content should be people-centred by linking data to human lives and welfare, and have a good balance of subjectivity and objectivity.  
3.    Impact of the entry on improving the understanding of the population of the data and on its general contribution to increase statistical literacy amongst Rwandans through accessible analysis, explanation, and statistical conceptualization used in a story or program.

4.    Quality of content, and variety of subjects covered.

5.    All the data quoted should clearly indicate year and source of the data.  

Entry information:

  1. Entries are allowed to have been published or aired on  any media platform(Online, print, radio and TV)
  2. A maximum of  4 entries per category
  3. During the pre-selection, the jury will choose which category is most adequate for your submission, although you may mention your preferred category in a story description statement in the application form.
  4. All entries must be accompanied by submission form that include:
  • Description of the entry, less than 100 words
  • Biography of the writer(s), less than 100 words
  • Confirmation of the date published,

   5. Entry Formats:

  • Print:  link to the online article or newspaper  or copies of the article or newspapers
  • Radio or podcast:  link to mp3 file either through an active URL or an archived link,    or copies on DVD
  • Television/youtube/other video:  link to an active URL   or copies of DVD  

   6. All submission forms must be filled in English. Entries in languages other than English will be accepted provided that they are accompanied by thorough explanations of the work in English in submission form. If a work originally published in a language other than English passes the pre-jury selection stage, applicants may be asked to provide additional information and translations if possible.

   7. There is no submission fee.

Submission procedures and deadlines:

  • The competition's submissions will close on 30 November 2017 at 05:00 P.M LOCAL TIME. All work must have been published or aired between 1st July 2017 and 30th November 2017.
  • Submission entries through Links or URLS should be made through online submission   form accessible from NISR website,   by November 30th, 2017 , at 05:00 P.M LOCAL TIME.
  • For  print copies or DVDs along with filled submission forms can also be  received at Innovations Team Office of NISR  by November 30th, 2017 , at 05:00 P.M LOCAL TIME.
  • The winners for awards will be announced during the first week December 2017, and the winning projects will be revealed at the ASD 2017 Ceremony on 8th December 2017.

Question can be emailed to with a copy to  or call +250788616735.