The Board of Directors is the supreme organ of the Institute in management and decision making for the achievement of the Institute’s mission. It is particularly responsible for the following:

To approve the internal rules and regulations of the Institute; to propose to the competent authority senior candidates to be appointed; to approve permanent members of staff not mentioned in point 2°  of this article; to prepare a draft of the organic framework and the organizational chart or eventual modifications and  thereafter to be approved by competent authority; to approve the action plan of the national statistical system and determine the priorities of the Institute in  conformity with the national priorities; to approve the annual budget proposal to be submitted to the supervising Ministry which in turn submits it to Cabinet for final approval; to approve the development plan of the Institute and ensure its implementation; to approve the quarterly and annual administrative and financial reports of the Institute; and to examine any matter worth of value to the Institute. 

The Board of Directors is composed of seven members including the Chairperson. The Prime Minister, appoints members of the Board of Directors and its Chairperson upon proposal by the Minister having general Statistics in his or her attributions. Such members are selected from the specialists in statistics, information and communication technology, economics or other related fields. The Director of the Institute is the secretary to the Board meetings. The members of the Board are appointed for a period of three years, which may be renewable only once.

Current Board Members:

 Mr. Callist Kayigamba

Mr Callist Kayigamba works as Country Director at Edify Rwanda since February 2019

Prior to that he served as an Education Technical Program Manager at World Vision Rwanda, where he played a crucial role in shaping and implementing education initiatives.

During his time at World Vision Rwanda, Mr Callist Kayigamba also served as the co-chair of the Rwanda Education NGO Coordination Platform (RENCP) for a period of approximately 6 months, demonstrating his commitment to collaboration and coordination within the education sector.

Mr. Callist Kayigamba has a strong academic background. He served as a lecturer at the National University of Rwanda (NUR) and held various leadership roles within the university, including Department Secretary and Head of Department, showcasing his dedication to both teaching and administrative responsibilities.

Board Appointments:

NISR Board of Directors: In recognition of his expertise and leadership qualities, Callist was appointed to the Board of Directors of the National Institute of Statistics of Rwanda (NISR) in 2012, where he has been contributing to the governance and strategic direction of the institution.

Currently, Callist Kayigamba serves as the acting Chairperson of the Board of the National Institute of Statistics of Rwanda (NISR), underscoring his capacity to lead and guide important institutions in Rwanda's development.

Mr. Callist Kayigamba holds a Master of Arts (MA) degree in Population Studies from the University of Nairobi in Kenya, demonstrating his expertise in demographics and population-related issues.

Post Graduate Diploma in Human Resource Management: He also earned a Post Graduate Diploma in Human Resource Management from Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) in India, showcasing his commitment to professional development and organizational leadership.

Bachelor’s Degree in Education: Callist's foundational education includes a Bachelor's degree in Education from the National University of Rwanda, highlighting his background in education and commitment to improving the quality of education in Rwanda.

Callist Kayigamba is a dedicated professional with a strong track record in the education sector, leadership roles within academic institutions, and active participation in the governance of key organizations like NISR. His qualifications and experiences reflect his commitment to the betterment of education and development in Rwanda.

Other Board members:

  • Mrs. Amina RWAKUNDA
  • Mrs. Diane UWITONZE
  • Mrs. Céline NUWAMAHORO
  • Mr. Callixte KAYIGAMBA
  • Mrs. Denise MUREBWAYIRE